Nick Altini, Biddy Faber and Rohan Isaacs from global law firm Herbert Smith Freehills have each won ‘Lawyer of the Year’ in their respective practice areas in this year’s Best Lawyers in South Africa 2020 awards. Only a single lawyer in each practice area and community is honoured with a ‘Lawyer of the Year’ award.

Nick Altini was awarded ‘Lawyer of the Year’ for his work in Competition/ Antitrust Law; Biddy Faber was awarded ‘Lawyer of the Year’ for her work in Project Finance and Development Practice; and Rohan Isaacs received ‘Lawyer of the Year’ in two categories – Information Technology Law and Telecommunications Law.

A number of other lawyers from the firm were recognised in this 11th Edition of The Best Lawyers in South Africa.

Brigette Baillie Banking and Finance, Project Finance and Development Practice, Regulatory Practice and Corporate Law
Biddy Faber Banking and Finance Law, Public Finance Law
Leana Engelbrecht Competition / Antitrust Law
Jean Meijer Competition / Antitrust Law and Trade Law
Rudolph du Plessis Corporate Law, and Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Peter Leon Corporate Law, Litigation, and Mining Law
Rohan Isaacs Media Law
Ross Lomax Mergers and Acquisitions Law

Recognition by Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer review. The methodology is designed to capture, as accurately as possible, the consensus opinion of leading lawyers about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical area and legal practice area.

Edward Baring, Managing Partner of the Johannesburg Herbert Smith Freehills office says, “Our strategy as a firm has been to build a team of best-in-class lawyers to provide our clients with unparalleled counsel, depth of knowledge and expertise. These awards are an endorsement of the success of our strategy and are especially gratifying, as they are based on recognition by our peers.”

Nick Altini, Rohan Isaacs and Ross Lomax joined the firm earlier this year.