It was announced yesterday that Lord Reed will succeed Lady Hale as President of the Supreme Court when she retires on 10 January 2020, having served as president since September 2017. Lord Reed is currently Deputy President, and therefore a new Deputy President will need to be appointed.

Three additional appointments were also announced, to take effect between January and June next year when Lady Hale, Lord Carnwath and Lord Wilson retire. The new Justices of the Supreme Court will be Lord Justice Hamblen, Lord Justice Leggatt and Professor Andrew Burrows. Professor Burrows’s appointment is noteworthy as it is unusual for Supreme Court Justices to have a background primarily in academia, rather than legal practice, though Lady Hale herself was an academic before her appointment to the High Court and then Court of Appeal. Professor Burrows is professor of law at Oxford as well as a door tenant at Fountain Court Chambers and also sits as a deputy High Court judge.