Paraguay set to re-enter Mercosur

On 29 June 2012, Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay elected to suspend Paraguay’s participation in the South American trade bloc, Mercosur, following removal of Paraguayan President, Fernando Lugo. Simultaneously, Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay admitted Venezuela as a full member of Mercosur, knowing that if Paraguay’s consent were to have been sought, it would have been rejected. … Read more