Following the weekend’s Crimea referendum, the EU and US have taken further steps (building on those outlined in our previous briefing) to impose targeted sanctions in response to the situation in Ukraine.

On 17 March 2014, the EU introduced an asset freeze and travel ban applying to 21 Russian individuals.  On the same day, the US introduced a second Executive Order, allowing it to sanction Russian individuals and released a list of 11 Russian and Ukrainian individuals subject to an asset freeze and visa ban under its Executive orders. 

For further detail, please click here for our e-bulletin on these developments.