EU trade agreement enters into effect with five southern African countries

On 10 June 2016 the EU signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) with the Southern Africa Development Community EPA Group comprising Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland (the SADC EPA). On 10 October 2016 that agreement entered into effect between the EU and five of those countries: with Mozambique in the process of … Read more

Signature of the Tripartite Free Trade Agreement (TFTA) on 10 June 2015: the first step towards a united African free trade bloc?

On 10 June 2015 the TFTA was signed in Cairo, uniting three of Africa’s principal trading blocs: the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the East African Community (EAC) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA). The TFTA consists of a US$1.2 trillion free trade area, incorporating 26 African nations,[1] a population of … Read more